General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Can someone explain chain ring/ compact cranks... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-06-04 9:05 AM

User image

Veteran
Pittsburgh, PA
Subject: Can someone explain chain ring/ compact cranks...
I'm looking to buy a road bike and I'm hoping someone can give me a clear explanation of how the crank set will affect the overall ride.  (sorry if my terminology is not all right- I'm still learning!)

Specifically, I'm choosing between a bike with a 53/39 up front and 11-25 in the back, or a slightly cheaper bike with 52/42/30 up front and 12-26 in the back.

I get (from reading other forums) that the 53-11 gear will give me a faster top speed (all other things being equal)- but why?  And how much faster?

Considering I'm a girl, and live around a lot of hills- is there any reason I wouldn't want the triple?

Thanks!

2009-06-04 9:35 AM
in reply to: #2194479

User image

Veteran
Subject: RE: Can someone explain chain ring/ compact cranks...

I'll take a shot...

Your terminology is slightly off, you are talking chain ring (gears near the cranks/pedals) and cogs (small gears on the back wheel...  the group of which is known as the cassette, I think).  I call the parts of the front that aren't the chain rings the crank and the arms going to the pedals the crank arms...  ( I may be slightly wrong, someone will correct me though)

What you are choosing between is your gear ratios, big number up front and small number in the back mean tall gearing (aka high gear, aka slow pedal fast speed, aka 5th gear in your car) Smaller up front bigger in the back mean short gearing(aka low gear, aka fast pedal slow speed, aka first gear in your car)

So since you are a near hills and a sounds like close to a biking noob, you may want the lower gearing that the triple allows (the 30 front - 26 rear granny gear vs 39 front - 25 rear)...