General Discussion Triathlon Talk » How do I not hate to run? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-03-20 7:30 AM

Veteran
Currently: San Diego CA
Subject: How do I not hate to run?
I hate to run. I don't know how to state it more simply than that. I'm just getting into Tri's. I've never done one before. But I like to swim and bike. Hate to run. Why?

- I am slow. I mean damn slow. Old people pass me in the walkers when I jog slow.
- It hurts. First I'm out of breath faster than when I do anything else. I can swim and bike for much longer and not get as winded. I can run for 3 minutes and feel chest pains! Then my leg muscles hurt. Sure, I'm a fat ass, but I don't think they should be getting as tired as fast as they are.
- Did I mention I'm slow and it hurts? 'nuff said.

So, how do I overcome these barriers? Right now it's pretty frustrating.

CRASH

2004-03-20 9:04 AM
in reply to: #13393

Regular
Colorado
Subject: RE: How do I not hate to run?
I hear you... I've always been a slow runner, nickname "leadbottom" since I was a kid. But I love to swim and bike, like you, so I started making myself run. I tried to follow the couch to 5K plan available on this website. It starts with lots of walking and just gradually adds in jogging. I was able to go from being winded at 3 minutes, to being able to sustain 2-3 miles at a time. Some days I walk in between, but I figure at least I'm still doing it. I take inspiration from my friend who does a 2:50 marathon: she started her post-baby training by jogging 5 minutes only and walking the rest. She built up to 26 miles at a pace of about 6:30. Now I don't have the genes to achieve that, but giving myself a break to walk when I need to helps, and sure enough, gradually, I am improving. Slow and steady! Good luck, Kim P.S. I still don't LOVE running, but I do LIKE improving :-)

Edited by kimber 2004-03-20 9:13 AM
2004-03-20 9:13 AM

User image

Veteran
, Zurich