General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Don't Neglect Your Mental Training Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-06-29 3:03 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Central New York
Subject: Don't Neglect Your Mental Training
Hey, guys!!  I'm generally a question poster here on BT, but I'm coming down to the last few weeks of training for my first HIM (7/19 Musselman), and have been thinking a lot about mental training.  For all of the advice and talk we see about physical training, it's rare to see posts about the mental side of the sport beyond HTFU (which is very useful, BTW!).  I am a professional musician and mental training is invaluable to performance skills.  Many sports psychologists also coach musicians, and I think there are a lot of similarities.

So during my physical taper, I will be focusing on a mental build.  Here are some of the things I am doing:

1.  I have made a playlist of songs that inspire me, get me excited, push me to the end.  It is pretty short, so I can really remember all of the songs.  I am going to listen to it a lot during the next few weeks, and associate certain parts of my race with certain songs...a pre-race song, a get on the bike and go song, a keep-going you-can-make-it song, a finish song, a song for the long hill at mile 8 in the run...etc.  I know you can't use an ipod during the race, but that doesn't mean you can't have your own playlist in your head.
2.  I'm going to make an effort during all workouts from here on out, to visualize myself on the course.  To see myself running strong, biking hard, and swimming smoothly and easily.  I'm going to see myself doing well and feeling great.
3.  I'm going to mentally practice each step of my transitions.  I can do this anywhere, so it's like free training time.
4.  I'm going to stay positive and speak only positive things about my race..."I will finish strong"  "I will have fun" "I will cheer others on"  "I will smile"