General Discussion Triathlon Talk » chosing the right bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-07-15 9:20 AM

New user

Subject: chosing the right bike
Hi everyone i am new to the sport, just start training and i am trying to get a decent bike for a good price. i'm 6'2 and 280lbs. my bike is killing me i ride about 25 miles avery sunday but i fell that i'm riding a street  car in a nascar race. i have a confort bike{with i love} but is just a confort bike.
    i got into bikesdirect.com and there is a lot of choices but i have no idea about with bike to get,remember i am just a rookie!!! i am worry about buying something and damage it bacause of my weight.  if anyone can help me pick a bike i will forever be greatfull.

2009-07-15 9:38 AM
in reply to: #2286495

User image

Veteran
Findlay OH
Subject: RE: chosing the right bike

There is nothing wrong with starting out on a comfort bike.  If that is the most comfortable stick with it for now.  After you get some miles under you you can upgrade.

If you are really ready for a new bike, the best bike is one that fits you well.  Use your LBS to help.  You might be able to take the current bike that hurts and get it fit at least a little better.  If it is completely the wrong size  there isn't much they can do.

Also if it is a road bike you are using different muscles than on the comfort bike.  Your body may be adjusting to the new position. If you ride the comfort bike throughout the week and just take the other out on Sunday, you are readjusting to the position every week.

2009-07-15 3:36 PM

User image

Regular
East San Francisco Bay Area
I Agree with the above.
Find a local bike shop and talk to them, tell them what you want to do, distances, how much you ride and what hurts on the long ones (tell them you price point as well).