General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bad decision on Felt s22 or not !! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-07-26 12:49 PM

Lancaster,Pa / Onancock,Va
Subject: Bad decision on Felt s22 or not !!
Here is my quandry and I know only I can resolve but looking for some fedback and critical input
I am a 60 y/o newbie over weight and working on my training (no logs posted) made good progress last 4 months and have been riding a trek hybrid
Decided I wantd a TT/Tri bike  so found a felt s22 here on clasifieds  thought it would help and inspire me----- WRONG-------had bike set up by a friend who is competative TT and MTB younger guy so it fits 

I am uncomftorable outside with gear levers on aero bars and hands far away from brakes I have ridden in the trainer and it is a little better but at my age an size not sure aero is ideal for me          So my question is do I sell the bike and move to a road bike do I modify tri bike by putting road bike handles brakes ,gear levers ( I know that may be sacralidges(sp) but I paid $900 for bike not sure I could duplicate bike to road bike  with similar  components for quite a bit more or just suck it up and learn to get used to it    Thanks I am thick skinned so I will not be offended by response 

2009-07-26 12:53 PM
in reply to: #2308510

User image

Champion
MA
Subject: RE: Bad decision on Felt s22 or not !!
How do you know it fits?

Just because your friend is a biker doesn't mean he can fit bikes.

If you aren't comfortable on the bike, my assertion is your bike doesn't fit you for the fitness you have now.

My suggestion is to get a professional bike fit and then make a decision what to do.
2009-07-26 1:02 PM

User image

Champion
Alabama