General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Considering first road race Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-08-04 12:28 PM

User image

Master
Subject: Considering first road race

Ok... all you bike racers out there. I am about 90% sure that tonight, I am going to the Tuesday night series that happens around here. It is a 28 mile road race with 4 separate packs that start 5 minutes apart.

I have never road raced before but my bike handling skills are pretty solid. My thought this first time out is to kind of hang toward the back of the "C" pack and enjoy the ride.

Any input or advice from you experienced racers is appreciated.

2009-08-04 2:11 PM
in reply to: #2327205

User image

Extreme Veteran
Houston
Subject: RE: Considering first road race
i am interested in any info on this as well!
2009-08-04 2:23 PM

User image

Expert
Longview, TX
I'm not that experienced (still a cat 5), but I have been in a few road races and crits this year.  I'll offer a little advice.

Don't hang on in the back of the pack if you want to do well.  Especially if the course has many turns and/or hills.  The back is going to be the place where you will have to deal with everybody braking in front of you, or slowing due to the hill.  This means you will be forced to slow down, then hammer to catch back up.  By the time you get to the line for the sprint, you'll be exhausted!

Get there early, and warm up.  When the race starts, get up to the front.  You want to be in the front 1/3 of the pack in order to avoid the "slinky" effect (described above).  If you're racing with 5's, the pack will always reel in the breakaway.  Cat 5's are always too anxious and excited to let somebody go solo.