General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » complete newbie Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-05-09 7:28 PM

New user

Vermont
Subject: complete newbie
Well I'm introducing myself. I've registered in my FIRST sprint triathlon for July 31st in Mass. I live in Vermont. I'm completely new at this and completely overwhelmed. At first I was completely excited now I feel the wind has left my sails. Not sure what to do with working out, etc. I've entered with 2 other newbies but they are sooo competitive it's turning me off. I just want to finish and be an example for my son and feel good. Any help, suggestions anything. Don't even have a workout plan. But I'm not giving up. I can run minimally, swim but don't know how to pace myself and just started biking up here (very mountainy). Anyway thanks for listening. Pamvt

2005-05-09 8:04 PM
in reply to: #155118

Subject: RE: complete newbie
Don't get discouraged and don't give up. Being with really competitive people can sometimes be annoying. I've got a couple of friends like that - love them to death but can't train with them often. I go with them only when I feel like pushing myself.

Have you looked at any of the programs on this site? I think you've got lots of time to get ready and your confidence will return as you progress on your chosen program.

Stick with it! Have fun and if you end up doing most of your training on your own it will give you time to think and enjoy the scenery, sensations, your thoughts, etc.

2005-05-09 10:52 PM

User image

Veteran
Roseville, California
Pam,