General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Deciding btwn Garmin 305 and 310xt have questions Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-08-05 5:36 PM

User image

West Chester, PA
Subject: Deciding btwn Garmin 305 and 310xt have questions
I'm a newbie triathlete, one sprint under my belt and 3 more schedule through Oct.  I have a forerunner 101 but it is very unreliable and bulky so I want to invest in a newer model but can't decide if the 310xt is worth the extra $250(can get the 305 for under $150).  Dang this sport is expensive!

First - I like the idea of being able to map out Routes in the 305.  Often I want to do a run through of a race route but can't look at the directions on paper and get a good ride in at the same time.  I'd love to pre-program a route in advance and glance down at the Garmin to direct me.  My understanding is that the 310xt doesn't offer the route feature at least that is what it says on the comparison chart.  The 310 only has waypoints/favorites/locations and this is different.  Is there some reason they did keep the routes feature in this new model?  Is there another easy way to do this function?

Is the heart rate strap the same on the 305 as it is on the 310?  Is i305 strap water proof (just the strap not the watch)?  In a race for example can I wear the strap in the water so I can use the 305 on bike and run with out having to put the strap on in T1?

The 305 says it is water resistant, I saw on a previous post that someone put another Garmin model under her swim cap and I think she was saying it would pick up a GPS signal.  Has anyone tried this with the 305?  If so does it transmit HR like my polar does?

Until a new Garmin model will at least record HR under water is it really worth spending $250 more on the 310xt, if so why am i missing something?  I do like the fact that it calculates calories based on HR for you but still not really worth the extra $250.

Help me decide please!!!!!!!!!!!!!