General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Transition from tri-season to run-season? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-08-14 10:38 PM

User image

Veteran
Subject: Transition from tri-season to run-season?

My last tri (a sprint) is scheduled for 9/5.  Until then I'm on a weekly schedule of: run 3x, swim 2x, bike 2x. 

After 9/5, I'd like to transition into a more run-focused schedule, although still 3x per week, but building mileage for the following races:

10/17 - 5k (more or less just for fun, but I'd still like to be fast)
11/8 - 10 mi  (B race)
11/22 - 13.1 mi (A race)

After 9/5, I'd still like to do: 1x bike, 2x swim (both easy, maybe one around 600 yds, one around 1000 yds...because I'm new to swiming this year and I want to keep working on my technique.)

From the week of 9/6 through 11/22, my training schedule is basically looking like this:

Sun - Bike
Mon - ???
Tues - Run (short)
Wed - ???
Thurs - Run (short)
Fri - ???
Sat - Run (long, building from 6 mi...which I've been doing all summer...to a high of 13 mi three weeks before the final race and 8 days before the 10 mi race.)

Of Mon/Wed/Fri, which would be my best bet for a day off, and which would be my best bets for swim days?

Also, do you think I could get in one strength and one yoga workout per week w/o being overloaded?  I'm thinking, pair one up with my easy 3-mile run day and one with my shortest swim day. 

Thoughts?

2009-08-15 2:04 AM
in reply to: #2350069

User image

Expert
Berkeley, Calif.
Subject: RE: Transition from tri-season to run-season?