General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Shoulder Trouble Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-08-20 8:13 AM

User image

Veteran
Metairie
Subject: Shoulder Trouble

I have been TRI training since roughly April.  I have never been a runner or a cyclist.  I have swam competitively for most of my life since 9th grade.

My swim yardage was up around 10,000 yards a week (running about 20 miles/week and cycilng about 100 miles/week).  I did a couple of Master's type meets and started to have some pretty annoying shoulder pain.  I have been a right side only breather, and it is my left shoulder.  There are plenty of techniques to improve my stroke, which I will certainly be doing when I can.

I have tried to get into the pool a couple of times to start improving my stroke, but the pain is still there.  My plan is to take a few weeks off of swimming (in addition to the previous two weeks of almost no swimming anyway).  I do get a slight discomfort from the shoulder when running, but I am still hoping that this isn't a countributing factor.

Any good ideas what kind of strength work I could do to try and maintain some of my swimming strength while not actually swimming?  Also, has anyone else had similar experience?

I will end up with a better "roll" in my body when this is done and I will be breathing bilaterally again (haven't cared about this since I was 18).

2009-08-20 2:36 PM
in reply to: #2359656

User image

Expert
The Woodlands, TX
Subject: RE: Shoulder Trouble