in reply to: #2376219

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.
2009-08-28 10:48 AM

Veteran
Orange, CA
Subject: RE: Strength Training and weightloss
I'm not an expert but it worked for me I think and my diet is no where near as constrained as yours.

I actually am new to triathlon but started the year working on adding strength training to my cardio work (which at the time was walking the dog). The information I've read in my research indicates that adding lean muscle mass will increase your base metabolism resulting in more calories burned per day. These are calories you burn essentially at rest...so the more lean muscle you have the more likely you are to be running a calorie deficit or to increase that deficit if you're already beyond your intake. Increasing base can have a larger overall impact since it's always working for you (as opposed to walking or other cardio which burns calories during activity and raises base for a few hours afterwards).

So I started working on areas of large muscle volume (chest, arms, back, legs) and started working them in simple ways...mostly body weight stuff. Push ups, pull ups, squats, planks...as my strength went up, pounds started to come off. Not even an hour ...20-30 minutes a 3-4 times a week seemed to do the trick. I'm down about 40 pounds since January (down to 5'10" 177) and now I'm trying to stabilize a bit so I'm having to consciously up my calorie intake carefully so I don't keep losing weight (some of which has been muscle) especially with the increased activity of training for a sprint.

I also throw in some stuff here and there during conference calls sitting at my desk...arm circles, reverse plank on my chair...stuff like that to keep my body awake during the day.

Anyways, just my thoughts, not really scientific or anything. Good luck in reaching your goals.
2009-08-28 10:53 AM

2009-08-28 11:17 AM
in reply to: #2376348

2009-08-28 12:15 PM

Expert
Raleigh