General Discussion Triathlon Talk » swim, and run transition questions Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-08-31 7:07 PM

User image

Expert
Subject: swim, and run transition questions
I'm new to this whole Tri thing, I'm still learning to swim 'right' (basically started swimming in June, read TI and am currently taking a class at a local JC).  I've put a lot of pool time in (relatively speaking, anyway) and have moments of feeling great, but have one major concern.  It consistently takes me about 3-400 yards before I start feeling smooth and fast.  Up until that, it's a bit of a struggle and I feel all choppy.  My first Triathlon (a super sprint tri-a-tri kind of deal) is in 2 weeks, and the swim is only 400yd!  I'm thinking the swim will end just as I'm getting warmed up...  Is this common, or will it get easier to go fast/smooth quickly with more training?

Second question, I figure I ought to get some transition exercises in.  The bike/run is no problem, but I am wondering how quickly after the swim a bike ride needs to me?  I usually ride to the pool, but after swimming I shower/change and it's about 15 minutes from swimming to heading out on the bike.  Does this count?  Do I need to do a few straight from pool to bike?

2009-08-31 7:19 PM
in reply to: #2381428

User image

Expert
Austin, TX
Subject: RE: swim, and run transition questions
Try to get in a warm up swim right before the race.  Also, I like to get in a 20 minute or so run to get my heart rate going and the sweat pumping.

Don't worry about riding right after swimming during training.

But you might practice a transition or two beforehand.  Basically practicing getting on your bike gear quickly and repeat for T2.
2009-08-31 10:40 PM

User image

Veteran