General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike Helmets Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-09-01 3:51 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Long Island
Subject: Bike Helmets
I'm just getting started in this multisport thing and I'm doing a du in October. I need to get a helmet but I'm not really sure what the difference is between the cheap and expensive ones. Is it mostly comfort or is it safety as well? I mean if I'm gonna finally wear a helmet after biking for the last 30 years, may as well do it right!!

BTW, if the person who gave me a tube as I was walking my bike down 25A in rocky point last week happens to be on this site....THANKS AGAIN!!!! Walking sucks!!!

2009-09-01 4:52 PM
in reply to: #2383475

User image

Subject: RE: Bike Helmets
CPSC certification is CPSC certification. They'll all protect your noggin. A lot of it is how cool your head stays and a lot of it is how light the helmet is, thus comfort.
2009-09-01 4:54 PM

User image

Master
Cypress, CA

I don't think there's an awful lot of difference in safety, as long as the helmet meets CPSC standards (and I doubt if anyone is selling helmets in the US that don't) and can be adjusted to fit you properly.

Differences in price are generally differences in style, ventilation and weight.

2009-09-01 5:17 PM

User image

Pro
the Alabama part of Pennsylvania
Like the others said, the differences between a $30 helmet and a $200 helmet are mostly cosmetic/comfort.  A more expensive helmet usually has more ventilation.  But keep in mind that helmets have a "lifespan" of about 3 years or so.  Then the polystyrene starts to stiffen or break down and become less reliable as a shock absorber in case of crash.  UV will shorten the lifespan, so ironically the more you are out using it, the quicker the time will come to replace it.  Also, don't store it near volatile chemicals (like gasoline) if you keep it in the garage.