Other Resources My Cup of Joe » I think I just lost my scooter mojo... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller Reply
2009-09-01 4:35 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
West Hartford, CT
Subject: I think I just lost my scooter mojo...
So my other bike is a 125 cc scooter which I've been riding for almost 2 1/2 years.  I actually sold my (very old) car to buy it, and we are now a 2 scooter, one car household.  My husband and I have been pretty hard core, riding them year-round as long as there isn't any snow or ice on the ground.  We have very short commutes to work, and basically 99% of our daily life revolves within six miles of the house.

Over the past few months the fun has slowly been sucked out of scootering for me due to various close calls with drivers, and I've been thinking about switching from scooting to simply riding my bicycle or walking.  Frankly, in this area people have ATROCIOUS driving skills.  I'm talking about regularly running stop signs, red lights, sudden lane changes without signaling, significant speeding, etc.  Everyone is in such a hurry, and I think (perhaps naively) if people walked or biked more we would all be happier.  Hence, I've been thinking about putting my money where my mouth is and not just getting a second car. 

Anyway, on Friday my husband crashed while trying to avoid getting run over by one of the aforementioned terrible drivers (no serious injuries - aches and pains and some road rash), and today I was VERY lightly rear-ended while scootering home (no injuries, no damage.)  Bottom line, this may have been the last straw for me.  There's no way he's going to stop scootering, but I think I may be done.  The fun simply isn't outweighing the risk any more.

No real question, I guess.  I just needed to put my thoughts down.  Thanks for reading/listening.

2009-09-01 9:39 PM
in reply to: #2383551

User image

Elite
Reno
Subject: RE: I think I just lost my scooter mojo...