General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Newbie looking for training advice Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-09-12 6:58 AM

New user

Subject: Newbie looking for training advice
Hello,

I am looking for training advice.  I am new to tri's.  First off my initial goal is just to finish a triathlon (sprint or mini).  I am in okay shape, but could help to loose a few pounds.  I have not been running in years.  Every year to so I will take up swimming again and swim about twenty laps or so a workout (I know not much).  I do however bike a lot, and have no issues in that section.  It is however a mountain bike, but as I said I am just looking to race for now.  I am 37 if that helps.

So that said how would you advice that one should train?  For the past month I have been swimming, riding and SLOWLY running (only gotten two miles under my belt.)  Years of ice hockey have worn on my knees.  I just learned how to swim for distance.  In the past I was swimming the only way I knew how and got fatigued after only four laps.  Thanks to the folks on here they helped me learn the right way to swim.  First time (after learning the new way to swim) I got six laps and only stopped b/c my triceps were cramping.  Anyway at first I was just doing one day of each (biking, swimming, running), then I started to couple, swim then bike, bike then run, etc.

Long story short, any advice on training schedules?  I have about an hour a day during the week (two young kinds) and about two hours on Sat and Sun.

Thanks,

Mark

2009-09-12 11:59 AM
in reply to: #2402006

User image

Elite
Alturas, California
Subject: RE: Newbie looking for training advice