General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Which bike parts to upgrade? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-09-15 4:09 PM

Subject: Which bike parts to upgrade?
My heavy Nishiki Olympic (POS) bike probably should be scraped, however, as a teacher I don't have the funds for a $750 new road bike, much less a $1,500 tri bike. Adding $200 to the bike to upgrade it year after year what are suggestions for moving myself more efficiently through the pack for priority purchases?
Wheels?
Gears?
Frame?
Other?

2009-09-15 4:13 PM
in reply to: #2408066

User image

Resident Curmudgeon
The Road Back
Gold member
Subject: RE: Which bike parts to upgrade?
2009-09-15 4:20 PM
in reply to: #2408073

User image

Sensei
Sin City

As bear said, the engine is the most critical part.  But since I know what you are REALLY asking...

Not knowing the condition of what you are using and if everything is in working order, most people will tell you that getting clipless pedals is the most important thing you can BUY to improve you machine.

Many would then say getting your bike properly fit for you to get the most out of it.

Then maybe aero bars.

Unless items are broken or don't work that well, replaceing them will have minimum impact to your bike, IMO.

2009-09-15 4:30 PM

User image

Champion
Knoxville area
clipless pedals.
Correctly fit to bike
A comfortable saddle for spending plenty of time working on the engine.

beyond that... replace the wiring/chain and get it oiled up / tune up if you haven't in a while.
2009-09-15 5:19 PM

Aero-bars, bike fit, aero helmet, race wheels. In that order.
2009-09-15 5:33 PM

User image

Raleigh
as others mentioned YOU are the most important part of the bike but upgrading the parts may make your life on the bike easier but it will cost you.

without looking at the bike and seeing what the various conditions of the parts are here is my quick list of what to look at and see what you think would be best/ cheapest/ easier to upgrade.