General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Strength training help please!! (newbie) Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-09-17 1:21 PM

User image

Sterling, VA
Subject: Strength training help please!! (newbie)
Ok, I have to admit that I get a bit overwhelmed at my gym's strength training equipment.  I mean, seriously, they can't expect me to use all those machines!! 

I'm extremely new to the triathlon arena, and I'm kind of wondering if you guys can help me figure out what is most important in strength training.

I usually take Tuesday and Thursday mornings to do my strength training.  Is 2x a week good?  Which machines are most important to help me improve in my swimming, biking, and running?  I especially need to improve my swimming.  I've realized that some of the machines seem to work the same muscles and I didn't know if I can just choose one of those or if I need to do all of them.

Thanks for any help y'all can give me...hope my questions make sense!  : )

2009-09-17 1:58 PM
in reply to: #2412078

User image

Modesto, California
Subject: RE: Strength training help please!! (newbie)
leahsings - 2009-09-17 11:21 AM Ok, I have to admit that I get a bit overwhelmed at my gym's strength training equipment.  I mean, seriously, they can't expect me to use all those machines!! 

I'm extremely new to the triathlon arena, and I'm kind of wondering if you guys can help me figure out what is most important in strength training.

I usually take Tuesday and Thursday mornings to do my strength training.  Is 2x a week good?  Which machines are most important to help me improve in my swimming, biking, and running?  I especially need to improve my swimming.  I've realized that some of the machines seem to work the same muscles and I didn't know if I can just choose one of those or if I need to do all of them.

Thanks for any help y'all can give me...hope my questions make sense!  : )