General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Double vs compact Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-09-24 10:33 AM

User image

Subject: Double vs compact
I live in Boulder, and I'm just getting started with tri.  I'm looking at upgrading my bike some.  Right now I ride a specialized allez with everything stock.  I'm planning on getting a new saddle and aerobars before next season.  I'm also considering upgrading the crank set, but that seems pricey so I have two questions.  First should I just start saving for a new bike after I get the aerobars and saddle?  Second if I do continue upgrading should I get a double or compact crank.  It's pretty hilly around Boulder and I'm wondering how much of a difference the compact crank would make.

2009-09-24 11:19 AM
in reply to: #2424099

Regular
Denver, CO
Subject: RE: Double vs compact
I ride a compact with an 11-28 cassette, and it seems to work great. I do spin out sometimes going down big hills, but the low end gearing more than makes up for it.

If you are interested, I've got one of these new in the bow that I can give you a smokin' deal on.
http://www.trisports.com/fsaslkmecaco.html?productid=fsaslkmecaco&c...
2009-09-24 11:52 AM

User image

Veteran
Rocky Mountains

Red pill vs the blue pill.

Of course...it depends.

For sure go with the double.  Until you do, practice with what you have and stay away from the granny.  When it is not an option, you will naturally become adjusted.

As for full vs compact.  Upside to a compact, a lot like a triple.  Downside-you'll run out of gears on the flats or rollers.

Run a 53-39 with a 12-27 on the back, and you'll be good to go with a bit of practice. 

It you can afford multiple cassettes-you can run a compact and have a 11-23 for flat days, and 12-27 for the uber hilly days, but either way, you might run out of gears. 

With a bit of practice, you would be just fine with a 53-39(full) on the front and a 12-25/27 on the back.

Good luck!

2009-09-24 3:21 PM