General Discussion Triathlon Talk » SRAM Red drivetrain vs carbon aero bars Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-09-24 11:55 PM

Subject: SRAM Red drivetrain vs carbon aero bars
I'm considering 2 similar Kestrel Talon carbon tri bikes at similar pricepoints.

One has SRAM Red drivetrain with cheaper Profile aluminum handlebars/aero-clips and the other one has Ultegra drivetrain with Profile Cobra Wing Carbon Bar with Profile Cobra T2 Carbon Clip-on Aero bars.  The Cobra carbon aero set costs significantly more than the cheaper aluminum set and should be more comfortable.  Does the SRAM Red drivetrain offer enough of an advantage over Ultegra to offset the handlebar/aero set?  (The SRAM Red bike actually costs $100 more).  Would a beginner even notice the difference between the drivetrains?

I'm leaning toward the Ultegra build with carbon handlebars/clip-ons since I'm assuming as a beginner, I would notice the slight comfort advantage immediately but not necessarily any performance advantage SRAM Red drivetrain might have over Ultegra.  I switched bikes with a friend of mine on the same route, and going from a super cheap aluminum tri bike to a full carbon made a huge difference in comfort.  Our main route is up and down the shoulder of a long highway that's not very smooth.

2009-09-25 8:15 AM
in reply to: #2425636

User image

Champion
Knoxville area
Subject: RE: SRAM Red drivetrain vs carbon aero bars
Buy the bike with the RED component kit. The carbon aerobars will not make a hill of beans difference comfort wise.

Get the bike with the Sram... even for $100 more, you are coming out with a better deal.
2009-09-25 8:38 AM

thanks, good to hear.  for some reason i thought the carbon bars might dampen the vibration to my arms/shoulders/neck which starts aching before my legs are done.  probably the carbon frame on my friend's bike is doing the bulk of the dampening and not the handlebars then?

This is the one I'm looking at: