General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Just getting started on my life journey Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-09-26 7:35 PM

Subject: Just getting started on my life journey
Hi, my name is Wendy. First, I want to apologize for the really long post that follows below. I'm competing in my first tri tomorrow and I just needed to remind myself how far I've come and why I'm ready to tackle this event tomorrow. Thanks for letting me spill my guts!

I've been wanting to get into triathlons for awhile. I've been an off and on runner over the past 10 years, but have always suffered from stress fractures in my feet. I'm sure being overweight didn't help my cause much. That led me to purchasing a road bike a three years ago and I fell in love with the open road. I looked forward to every Saturday and Sunday, because I could "get lost" for a few hours and have my own "thinking" time. Two years ago, I started playing soccer and my weekends were spent on the soccer field and the bike started collecting dust. Earlier this summer I saw a few friends posting status updates about their triathlon adventures and decided I'd give it a go in late July. I'm not sure if it was peer influence or the fact that 30 was looming just around the corner and I didn't want to spend the next decade being unfit. So, I signed up for my first sprint tri at Deer Creek on 9/27.