General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike portion of IM (flat) and nutrition strategy? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-10-22 10:22 PM

Subject: Bike portion of IM (flat) and nutrition strategy?
First IM distance...have done a couple of HIM's, finishing around the 7 hour mark total time...

However, this being my first IM, I am estimating a 6:30 bike time, 7 tops alone...geez ;-)

Sharing my base bike plan...and need advice for tweaks - considering I am a novice triathlete...

+++

Plan is to get primary intake through liquid...so, I am going for the IM cocktail method.

Here goes the mixture thought process...
  • One 20 oz bottle mixed - Iron Man Cocktail is roughly 700 calories and contains 330 mg of Sodium native to the mix.
  • One Salt Stick capsule is 215 mg of Sodium.
Hourly consumption thought = 1/2 bottle of IMC (350 calories and 115 mg Sodium) +  2 Salt Sticks (430 mg Sodium)

I am rather slow and figure my output will not be compared to a world class athlete, however, I want to drink enough fluid and calories, along with enough sodium to minimize the muscle cramps during the last part of the bike...setting up for the run.

Questions:
In addition to the 20 oz of water mixed with the bottle of IM cocktail, what "should" my additional h2o intake be per hour on the bike?
Do you see any major flaws in my overall approach?

Note:  I have a hydration pack that holds 70 oz h2o and I intend on using it for sure...I am comfortable using it as I train with it, no problems.  I am not worried about wind drag and speed...again, I am trying to make it through the bike section with the best chances of preparing for the run.  Heck, half of the bike ride or more I'll be in a road position...lol.

Regarding the run, any suggestions on caloric, sodium, and h2o intake?  I am going to do a mix of walk/jog - alternating every mile (goal) until I cross the finish, come hell or high water ;-)