General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Getting Back to Training after a MI Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-10-29 3:31 PM

User image

Greenville, SC
Subject: Getting Back to Training after a MI

Last January I started training for Triathlons.  I was overweight but had always been fairly active due to my career.  In August after a training ride I had a MI (100% block in my LAD and 99% in artery around back).  Thankfully during the course of the even the LAD opened back up to 85% which most likely spared me.  I went straight to the cath lab and two stents later was in good shape.  My EF is 60-65% and my cardiologist says there is very minimal damage.  I had a follow-up heart cath due to a false positive on my nuclear stress test and all arteries are clear.  

Now for the question:  how quick should I get back to training.  I am in cardiac rehab right now and it's very frustrating.  The program won't let me push anything beyond a brisk walk on a slight incline and now I'm actually a little nervous to get back into gear.   The cardiologist has cleared me to go back to everything....but the meds have torn up my stomach and the resulting reflux has resulted in some chest pain (apparently not cardia related).  I'm on the normal regiment of an ACE, BETA Blocker, Lipitor, Effient and asprin.

Any thoughts or advice would be appreciated. 

2009-10-30 1:30 PM
in reply to: #2487411

User image

Expert
Cambridge, MA
Subject: RE: Getting Back to Training after a MI
Glad to hear you are recovering well and your card has given you the green light for starting to exercise again.  But I'm confused-- are you still in rehab and have a program to follow?  If your docs have given you a program, you should complete it before moving on or adding a lot of training to it.  If it has been communicated to you that you need to do "at least as much as this rehab program," then that's something different.