General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Is a skewer just a skewer? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-10-29 7:15 PM

User image

Regular
Subject: Is a skewer just a skewer?
I just got my new Kinetic Road Machine (I love it!). Previously I had a Giant Magnetic Trainer and I left in the rear skewer that came with that trainer all the time. The Kinetic trainer came with its own rear skewer that looks pretty much identical to the one already on my bike. Is there any need to change it out? I'm no bike mechanic and even doing simple things make me nervous that I'm going to mess up my bike, so if I there is no real need to change it out, I'd rather not, but I don't want to mess anything up by not changing it either.

2009-10-29 7:18 PM
in reply to: #2487818

User image

Master
Highlands Ranch
Subject: RE: Is a skewer just a skewer?
As long as the skerwer ends (knobs?) fit into the holding brackets in the new trainer, shouldn't be an issue...
2009-10-29 7:20 PM

User image

It's not really your bike that'll get messed up, it's the skewer. If the skewer on your bike is metal you shouldn't have a problem.
2009-10-29 7:21 PM

User image

Expert
All are not made equal. You want to make sure it is on tight, some brands were known to come with a lesser quality skewer which caused issues with bikes that had an adjuster screw/rear wheel cutout. Just make sure its on well, and if it fits go for it.
2009-10-29 7:22 PM
in reply to: #2487826

Master
DanielG - 2009-10-29 8:20 PM It's not really your bike that'll get messed up, it's the skewer. If the skewer on your bike is metal you shouldn't have a problem.
+1. I swap out the skewer because my skewer is coated in plastic and the trainer will chew it up. Takes 2 seconds to swap it out.
2009-10-30 1:03 AM

User image

Pro
, New Hampshire