General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hello! New to the Tri World... Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-03-31 11:37 AM

Subject: Hello! New to the Tri World...
Hello everyone. Matt in Minneapolis here. I am totally new to this triathlon thing. Last year I got back into something resembling good shape and ran a couple 5ks and an 8k. I just bought a road bike recently and started training for the Lifetime Fitness Tri here in Minneapolis in July.

A quick question about transitions: Do people where their bike shorts for the swim portion of the race and then just hop on the bike? Or do most people change into bike shorts after the swim? Likewise for the bike-run transition. Do people where their bike shorts for the run? Any and all info is appreciated.

Sorry if this is a beaten-to-death thread, but I'm new to the board. Thanks!!

2004-03-31 1:00 PM
in reply to: #15667

User image

Regular
North Carolina, USA
Subject: RE: Hello! New to the Tri World...
Hey man,

For my first three tri's, I just wore my biking shorts for the swim portion. I wasn't about to drop a lot of money on a wetsuit, just incase I didn't like it, know what I'm saying? It worked out pretty well. I would have pretty quick transitions because I didn't and still don't have biking shoes, I wear my racing flats (running shoes) for the bike and have the straps on my pedals. When I transition into the run, I keep my biking shorts on, but would just throw running shorts with my number over top of them and take off. My transition would be like 30 seconds. Bike shorts dry out pretty fast and don't really slow you down too much in the water, so it is a good way to get into the sport. Good luck with your training and welcome to the board my friend.

Cory
2004-03-31 1:13 PM

Expert
Princeton, MN
Welcome to Another Minnesotan. That means there must be about 5 of us on these boards now. I too am doing the Lifetime in July (say "Hi" as you speed past me )