General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » It seemed like a good idea... Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-06-07 10:56 AM

New user

Subject: It seemed like a good idea...
Looks like I'm really going to do this thing. I've got an off-road tri coming up in two weeks. I've been to the trail but I guess I missed this huge incline someone told me about later. Yea...nightmares up to raceday. Anyhow, it's my first one. I'm a ball of anxiety, but pressure is a strong motivator.

Let me tell you a little about myself. I'm a newly commissioned ensign in the U.S. Navy fresh out of Officer Candidate School in Pensacola, FL. I graduated with my master's degree from Oklahoma State University in December. Prior to, I attended the University of Tennessee in Knoxville on a softball scholarship. Since my eligibility was up in 2001, I've been looking for a new place to focus my competitive spirit. Just so happens that triathlons coincide with my competitiveness and fitness goals. And, with a lot of encouragement from my lieutenant, AJ Breitweiser, I've thrown myself into the flames. However, I'm looking forward to it.

So, if anyone has some words of encouragement or a magical wand that can make me breathe better when swimming, I'm all for it. About the incline...I'll let you know how it goes.

2005-06-07 11:33 AM
in reply to: #170313

Western Mass
Subject: RE: It seemed like a good idea...
Welcome. It seems kinda funny to have a Navy Officer that needs to learn how to swim but ....
shhhhh. I'm a former Marine WSSI Swimmer and I can't swim worth a hoot. Sure I can go a mile in rough seas but I am the proverbial bull in a china shop.