General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Newbie here Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-12-28 1:57 AM

Subject: Newbie here
I have always thought tri athletes where amazing. I am not built like them at all, never figured I would try and ever do one. Well after finding this site, and being talked into by my best friends wife. We are going to do a try a tri this summer of for sure the next depends on some commitments that I already have). So I need all the help and advice I can get. I am 5'11 290 pounds. I know losing weight is one thing I need to do and this is one reason I agreed to do this. One question I have is do I do more cardio or weight training? I have use of a indoor pool and the atletic club I belong to?

Thanks in advance as I am sure I wll have many more.

Greg

2009-12-28 12:07 PM
in reply to: #2579602

User image

Expert
San Gabriel Valley, California
Subject: RE: Newbie here
Welcome to BT.  Start with more cardio and logging what you eat.  Strength training isn't all that important at this stage, in the overall scheme of things.  I would get one of the Couch to ______ whatever plans and follow it.  There are programs here and other places on the web.  Good luck.
2009-12-28 3:08 PM

User image

Monterey Bay, Cali

How's it going? I'm a newbie to triathlons too :D
I would definitely agree that Cardio is more important at this stage but don't count strength training out completely. You should also be picky with the cardio you choose at first. As a clyde you can do a lot of damage to your joints by getting off the couch, throwing on a pair of shoes, and taking of down the street for a run. Because strength training is so extensive, it can be easy to get lost in the works. You don't have to go crazy; try to find a balance though.

core, core, core, and take care of your knees and shoulders!

Edited by FatKid 2009-12-28 3:12 PM
2009-12-28 4:43 PM
in reply to: #2580623

User image

Master
Metro NY Area