General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Beginner Triathelete: First time buying road bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-01-21 2:19 PM

Subject: Beginner Triathelete: First time buying road bike

Hi, I am in the process of buying a road bike. I have been looking around alot and surfed the net quiet alot trying to find the ideal one to fit my pocket and offcourse value for money. I''ve received some advice as to what to go for and ended up with 4 basic options in 3 brands. Merida 901, Merida HFS 904-COM, Silverback Monterey and Scott Speedster S40. First off, there is a reason why I am looking at 2 price classes and that is only because I'm not sure if it will be worth forking out the extra buck for the more expensive 904 or Monterey with 105 group sets etc.
I am a beginner and haven't owned a road bike since Gr.1, yet since I only own an entry level mountain bike I completed my first (cross) triathlon this Sunday. I enjoyed it very much and I'm training hard to enjoy my next even more. I have a fairly competitive streak in me and can't help but try and go for the best. I'm still on sprint level at the moment but am hoping to work my way up to doing my first Ironman next year. If someone could point me in a general direction opinion wise I will greatly appreciate it. Thanks!

2010-01-21 2:43 PM
in reply to: #2627039

User image

Champion
Knoxville area
Subject: RE: Beginner Triathelete: First time buying road bike
You'll get the same answer over and again on this site.

1.) Get a FIT. This is going to cost about $100-$200. If you are at a TREK/Specialized dealer, don't just take their word that "This trek here will fit you for sure." It may benefit you to tell the fitter you are not buying a bike that day, that you just want your measurements / fit dimensions. If somebody tells you something will fit based on your "standover," walk out.