General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » First Triathlon - Any suggestions Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-01-26 10:46 PM

Subject: First Triathlon - Any suggestions
Hi my name is Trevor and im going to be running my first Triathlon this summer in late June.  I'm a freshman as Bemidji State University and was in cross country for six years during high school and middle school.  I ordered the "Triathlete's Training Bible" by Joe Friel to help we try to figure how how to train for a triathlon.  If anyone has got any good advice that would be great!

Thanks!

2010-01-26 11:55 PM
in reply to: #2636528

User image

Expert
Salem
Subject: RE: First Triathlon - Any suggestions
Hey Trevor.  Orginally from your neck of the woods; South Dakota.  Actually played Bemidji State in Football when I played for Northern State University in Aberdeen, South Dakota.

First of all I'd get a workout plan that will prepare you for your first tri.  Much easier to follow a plan than try to figure it out by yourself.  Use one of the free plans on BT or sign up and get one of the other plans. 

IMO..I'd did two Tri-It Sprints instead of the full Sprint; about 400 or so yds. shorter swim.  The swim is probabaly the toughest part unless you are a swimmer.  Wearing a wetsuit is a little different than just a swimming suit or in this case tri shorts. 

If money is an issue look on line or ebay for deals on Tri Apparel.  Definitely get yourself a pair of tri-shorts.  You can use these on the bike as well when you train; if you have bike shorts to use when you train that is OK but don't expect to wear the bike shorts in the race to swim or bike in; very different from Tri-Shorts.  For a sprint you may get away with wearing Swim jammers on the bike and run.