General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hello from Ohio Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-02-09 10:34 AM

Lancaster
Subject: Hello from Ohio
Hello everyone.

I'm new to triathlon and entering my first sprint distance in July.  I was a competitive swimmer and ran track in high school but that was 15 years and several pounds agoFrown.  Two years ago I reached a max of 285 lbs at 6' tall.  I decided I had to do something.  I was 170 upon graduation from high school in 1995 but years of college, beer and the recliner have done me no favors.

I'm a father of two boys age 5 and 2 and decided I needed to do something about my health for myself and to set a good example for them.  With the obesity levels in today's society the last thing they need is a bad example at home as well.  Today I'm 225 and still dropping and got the wild idea to try a tri.  I started training the first of the year so that should give me time to build a decent base by July.

I swim twice a week as that is my strong suit and I want to focus on improving the run and bike.  Right now I'm looking out the window at 10" of snow so my training has been limited to the YMCA treadmill and stationary bike.  I'm hoping to be down to 205-210 for the event and looking forward to my first experience.

2010-02-09 7:53 PM
in reply to: #2663298

User image

Master
Overland Park, KS
Subject: RE: Hello from Ohio

B.J.  Welcome to BT.