General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Hitting a mental wall in the pool Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-02-18 9:30 AM

User image

New York
Subject: Hitting a mental wall in the pool

Looking for a little advice, see if anyone can share my misery.

I have recently been getting panicky while doing Time Trials for swimming. I try concentrating on staying relaxed, focusing on pacing, even trying to zone out. But, for some reason, I keep getting this overwhelming fear that I'm going to drown or something, and I can't help but stop. Eventually I give up and get out for the day. At first, it would happen about 200 yards into it, and I thought it must be because I'm going out too fast, so I worked on pacing during the first half. Then, today, I got to about 850 when I just flipped out, only 150 yards to go!

I should add that I'm not exactly a beginner when it comes to swimming. I have been swimming since I was about 5 years old and was on swim team into high school. There are definitely faster people than me, but I don't feel like I'm struggling in the pool. Not to compare times with anyone else, but my pace for an easy 30 minute swim is about 1:30 per 100. And, I don't feel particularly out of breath (My pace for what I completed today was only 1:30, which just seems discouraging for what I was hoping).

I know this seems like I'm putting a lot of pressure on myself, and I admit that I am. This is all supposed to be fun, and it's not worth hyper-focusing on it. This is just a mental wall that I'm hitting. But, I'm just wondering how to get past it. Anybody else have the same experience?

Thanks

2010-02-18 9:36 AM
in reply to: #2679243

User image

Veteran
Metairie
Subject: RE: Hitting a mental wall in the pool
If it is truly mental, maybe you could gain by not knowing how far you are going.  Have you thought about just getting in and swimming and intentionally losing count?