General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Starting over again... Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-06-15 11:27 AM

User image

Elite
Bay Area, CA
Subject: Starting over again...
Well, I've been doing this crazy sport since 2001. I had a good time in 2001, and 2002, just learning and getting better. I only did sprint distance because I am so slow on the running. My run splits were longer than my bike splits!

My best year ever was 2003. That year I did a half-marathon, finally started losing the weight (I have a long ways to go) and did my first Oly. For the first time ever, my run was about 5-10 minutes faster than my bike.

Then, some pretty bad personal stuff happened, which totally threw me for a loop. Instead of using my good habits, I stopped working out, started coping by eating too much food/sugar (the source of the original weight issue in the first place.) and spent way too many weekends holed up in my house like an insane hermit.

So, here I am starting over again after about 9 months of completely not doing anything. What's that quote? Something like, if you fall down and stay down, you lose. The man who wins is the one who keeps getting up and getting back in the ring. That's me. Here I am getting up again, and giving it another go.

I have to say, that the energy and cardiovascular fitness is coming back pretty fast, it is true what they say about having a good base. I have that from prior years, and it feels great to be using it again. So, I know a lot, and have learned a lot, just need to consistently apply it to reach my goals. Hopefully, this time everything will come together. Everything is going great so far!

2005-06-15 12:09 PM
in reply to: #175275

User image

Pro
Evanston,
Subject: RE: Starting over again...