Other Resources My Cup of Joe » Why do we need healthcare reform? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller Reply

of 5

2010-03-07 7:33 AM

User image

Louisiana
Subject: Why do we need healthcare reform?

Why do we need healthcare reform? Your opinion please.

Edited by twylite148 2010-03-07 7:34 AM

2010-03-07 7:50 AM
in reply to: #2712366

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: Why do we need healthcare reform?
I recently went from having insurance through my work to becoming self employed. I have had some weird experiences that make me feel really bad for anyone that has ever had to apply for insurance on their own.

First, my husband had a dentist appointment the day after my last day at work. I did not know prior to quitting that my insurance coverage would terminate my last day of work rather than the end of the month. When we spoke with our dentist office about the fact that we no longer had insurance, we asked if they provided discounts to people without insurance (this was after reviewing our bill from the last time I had gone in, and seen that they gave us a 60% discount for our prior insurance). Their answer? No way, no how. Not even if we paid for services at the time of service with cash. I personally think this is really crappy - if they don't have insurance claims to file they are saving money on paperwork, plus they could get their payment right away instead of waiting a month or however long for the payment from the insurance company. I realize not all offices might be like this, but it just seems kind of ridiculous (we will be looking for a new dentist of course).