General Discussion Triathlon Talk » V02 Max Test Results - now what ? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-06-22 7:21 AM

User image

Veteran
Philadelphia, PA
Subject: V02 Max Test Results - now what ?
I had my V02 Max tested last night by a guy who is trying to get a side business up and running, so I was a happy to take up the free offer.

Since I have never done this before and know very little about the test, I was hoping someone could fill me in.

The test was done while I was riding and I had this oxygen mask on my face and I had to breath into it. There was a tube that was connected to the mask and fed into a machine called " the Cardio Coach".

After a brief warmup, I started pedaling and had to maintain 100 watts ....after a short period of time, we bumped it up in 25 watt increments and repeated this over and over until I could no longer maintain the power ( which in this case turned out to be 350).

Afterwards, I was given a printout of the results, which basically confirmed to me that I am already training in the rigght HR zones.

What I don't understand, is what they actually mean ...the science behind the #'s.

I am posting them here and hope to hear some feedback from those that actually understand this.

Side note: going into the test, I was told to be fully rested, so I didn't mention that I had completed an OLY only 2 days prior, so my legs weren't 100%.

My stats:

Weight: 194
Height: 6'-0"
BMI: 26.4

Cardio Strength:

---------------------------------------Start-------------AeT------------AT------------Peak

VO2( ml 02/kg/min)------------------9.5--------------52.5-----------56.2---------59.1
Heart Rate-----------------------------80---------------156------------164----------175
Calories per hour--------------------237--------------1300-----------1392---------1475
Fitness level:Superior

Recovery Heart Rate

Peak -> 175
1 minute->140 (37%)
2 Minute ->117(62%)

Thanks in advance!

John

2005-06-22 9:32 AM
in reply to: #180604