General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hello From So. Cal. Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-04-21 5:49 PM

User image

Regular
Redlands, CA
Subject: Hello From So. Cal.
Hello Everyone!  I am a newbie from Southern California.  My husband and I will be in our first Tri later this year.  I'm beginning this journey because I want to be fit.  I've got some weight to lose and some obstacles to overcome, but I'm sure I'll find a way!

I grew up with my parents telling me "you can't do that...you can't compete in sports because you're too short...you're too fat".Frown  I'm here because I want to show my kids that anything is possible.  I believe that there is nothing you can't do.  You may not be good at it, but with practice and patience, everybody can achieve a goal.  My goals for this year are to lose about 30 lbs and compete in my first SuperSprint Triathlon in October.

2010-04-21 5:53 PM
in reply to: #2808521

User image

Subject: RE: Hello From So. Cal.
Welcome! What race are you planning on doing?
2010-04-21 6:02 PM
in reply to: #2808528

User image

Regular
Redlands, CA
ChrisM - 2010-04-21 5:53 PM Welcome! What race are you planning on doing?

Thanks!  I'm planning on doing the SuperSprint in San Diego.
2010-04-21 7:37 PM

User image

Expert
Palm Springs, California
What a great attitude! You rock!

If you haven't discovered it yet, a trick I came across was the magic of swimming. Since I started last Dec, I dropped 30 lbs. The pool burns calories like crazy, and it tightens your abdomen. I'm hungry after a bike ride, but happy with a salad after a swim.

You're going to be a great example!
2010-04-21 8:22 PM
in reply to: #2808696

User image

Regular
Redlands, CA
Pacific John - 2010-04-21 7:37 PM What a great attitude! You rock!