Ashland, Massachusetts
United States
F.I.R.M.
Total Time = 1h 16m 26s
Overall Rank = 77/90
Age Group = Males 35 -39
Age Group Rank = 14/17
Pre-race routine:

Not too much of a pre-race routine- got to the park early and took some time to meet other participants.
Event warmup:

Light running and a short pre-ride.
Run
  • 16m 14s
  • 1.8 miles
  • 09m 01s  min/mile
Comments:

I was fairly happy with Run #1. I had scouted out the course before and pre-ran most of it. There was added section that I did not expect, a very large hill that most everyone had trouble with. Still, I feel that I got up and over it with no problem. Overall, Run #1 went well- i kept a solid pace and just tried to run my own race.
What would you do differently?:

I would give myself more time- in February when I started training, I could not run a mile without stopping, so this was a big improvement in a small amount of time.
Transition 1
  • 02m
Comments:

I am estimating 2:00 minutes here- FIRM does not track transitions, but include it with the next activity. I felt this was a quick transition for me- I got in, changed shoes, and got out without issue. I did forget to switch my Garmin to bike mode- so I lost all data after this transition.

I would learn to use the Garmin in multisport, so I can get better tracking of my results.
Bike
  • 37m 34s
  • 5.5 miles
  • 8.78 mile/hr
Comments:

I knew coming in to this event that my mountain biking would make or break the race for me. It did not go well. The course was not technical, but the difficulty of the hills really hurt me. As a cyclist moving into multisports, I am not very proud of this effort. At several points during the ride, I really started to question why I had signed up for the race.