General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Wetsuit advice Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-05-01 12:52 AM

User image

Veteran
, New Jersey
Subject: Wetsuit advice
Can anyone recommend a decent wetsuit for a beginner triathlete? I don't need one for racing yet, since my first race is the last week of July, but I joined a local masters team that swims at the YMCA until June, then does open water swims all summer. They recommended I buy a sleeveless wetsuit to start. I'm hoping to find the cheapest one possible that will serve my purposes while I'm still a newbie. I'm not too keen on the idea of used wetsuits because I know neoprene requires a lot of care (I'm a kayaker and I bought a sprayskirt that wasn't care for properly) and I'd prefer buying a new one anyway. Are there decent ones that cost around $100?

2010-05-01 1:19 AM
in reply to: #2829884

User image

Champion
Tacoma, Washington
Subject: RE: Wetsuit advice
Sometimes you can pick up a "last year's model" wetsuit at your local tri store for a good price.

Also, the NeoSport brand are some of the least expensive out there (at least they were a couple years ago) and very good quality.

But... Can you rent one from a local tri shop?
2010-05-01 1:42 AM
in reply to: #2829891

User image

Veteran
, New Jersey