General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Intro - question Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-04-13 4:06 PM

User image

Master
Subject: Intro - question
Greetings. I have been using this site for some training tips, and thought I would join in the discussion. I am a 35 year old first time triathlete, intending to do my first sprit tri in June. I have been running regularly for about 10 months, and am now doing between 18 and 25 miles per week. Before that I had neglected my physical health for some time, but have since dropped 35 lbs and gotten into "healthy" BMI range.

I got the triathlon bug about a month ago when a friend informed me she was competing in a half IM. After some consideration and research it seemed like a great way to keep my interest in physical fitness. I have set myself up on a training schedule that includes three days of running, one day in the pool and two days on the bike. While I would like to do more, particularly in the pool, my work and home schedule simply does not allow it. (When the weather improves where I live, I should be able to get in more water time in my pool.) My training focus, other than in running where I feel fairly confident, has been on slowly increasing my distances. Speed, particularly in the water has not been much of a consideration. I have gotten my swim distance up to 200 uninterrupted yards, and my riding up to 10 miles at what I consider a steady pace.

Recently I have had some interruptions in my training schedule due to an attack of the flu, as well as work related travel. Although in actuality relatively short (6 days), the stoppage feels like a lifetime. I feel as if I am starting over again in events in which I have less experience.

I have two questions:

1. Will my current training regimen adequately prepare me to finish a sprint triathlon in June?

2. What are the ultimate effects of unplanned breaks in training?

Thanks for your insights.

Bill

2004-04-13 4:46 PM