General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Keeping the Motivation Alive Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-07-14 11:33 AM

User image

West Georgia
Subject: Keeping the Motivation Alive
I am training for my first Sprint Triathlon and it will be on the 25th. I will then transition my training for the Atlanta Half Marathon on Thanksgiving. Then I will start working for next year and my Olympic to HIM distance for 2011.

I found recently an interesting thing about my training plan. It is boring me to death. The structure has become monotonous. I have been running for several years and after the first year I started using training plans as a guide and never really followed one strictly. At 30 (last year) I ran mile PR at 5:38 and a 5K PR at 19:23. I am slower now but also training for 3 sports instead of 1. I am capable of pushing myself without following a plan strictly.

I have decided to keep my interest level up in my Tri training to do the same. So I am mixing up my training. My goals now are to get at least 3 workouts per week in each sport. I have been deciding on my distance or time shortly before the workout based on feel. I am also trying to get in more runs as I am trying to start increasing run fitness for a Half Marry. I don't want to finish I want to finish in under 1:30.

Any way. I just wanted to share with everyone who is not a PRO that has stagnated training, that for me, I can keep my interest by being spontaneous. I have run every day for several days, I also have done swimming and biking. I plan to get in a ride tonight and tomorrow. I ran this morning and did a nice weight workout. I love swimming as long as I mix it up. Swimming lap after lap with no change gets really boring, just like the Treadmill gets boring.

I would like people to submit interesting workouts on this thread that help kill training boredom and get you back on track for a good training year and strong finish times! 

2010-07-14 3:49 PM
in reply to: #2980394