General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hello from NC Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-07-16 6:12 PM

Subject: Hello from NC
I am a definite newbie from Winston-Salem, NC.  I am planning on competing in my first Tri (Tri-A-Tri) at aour YWCA in October and am definitely apprehensive.

A little about me...I have distal Muscular Dystrophy which affects my hands (weak grip in my right hand) and feet (drop foot on both).  I have found a lightweight brace to help with the drop foot and will have to wear it when I do the run/walk.  I will have to use walking poles for now as I train but hope to be able to eventually transition away from them.

My weight has always been an issue.  In October of last year, I weighed 456 pounds and was struggling to even get from point A to B.  My wife and I made a commitment to change and as of last week, I was down to 396 lbs.  Because of my build, most people have no idea I weigh that much.  I wanted to become active again and get back down to a reasonable weight (goal is 225).

I joined the local YWCA and it has made so much of a difference.  I can now bike 4+ miles at a time on an exercise bike (at a fairly decent rpm) and can swim 50 yards without stopping.  I walk 1 mile in the water on a regular basis and jog in place for 30+ minutes in the water regularly also.  The treadmill is still a little intimidating!

My biggest goal/challenge is to be able to jog again.  I know I will never win a Tri.....but for me, winning is just finishing!  I also want to be able to inspire others with mild to moderate disabilities to get out and try one! 

2010-07-16 6:40 PM
in reply to: #2986345

User image

Veteran
Raeford, North Carolina
Subject: RE: Hello from NC