General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Lopsided training schedules Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-07-22 7:14 PM

User image

Subject: Lopsided training schedules

I travel for a living so I'm home only on Fri, Sat, and Sun. I have noticed that most training plans space out each discipline, something like run on Mon, Wed, Fri; bike on Tue, Thu, Sat; swim on Mon, Wed, Thu (or something close to that nature.)

What I've been doing is kind of lopsided - Run (Mon, Tue, Wed); Bike (Fri, Sat, Sun); Swim (somehow fit 2 or 3 swim sessions in); Thursday is travel/rest day for me. Question for the veterans, do you guys see anything wrong with doing this? How necessary is it to space out disciplines?

I can try to find a spin class during the week and swap that for a run on the weekend. That brings me to my next question, 60 min spin class vs. 30 miles or a 2hr bike ride, are they comparable?

Thanks for your input!

2010-07-22 7:33 PM
in reply to: #2998953

User image

Expert
Pfafftown, NC
Subject: RE: Lopsided training schedules

I'm 45.  I have a job; a wife; a teenage son and several other irons in the fire.

Perfect workout schedule?  I'm not sure that exists, for ME.  Train when you can.  I ran Mon; Tues; Wed. and Thurs....and snuck in a bike ride a little while ago.  I need to swim.  I will when I can. 

YMMV

2010-07-22 9:03 PM

User image

Champion
Calgary
dude if it is working great.

Haven't a clue about the spinning though.
2010-07-23 12:35 AM

User image

Expert
JoeP138 - 2010-07-22 5:14 PM

I can try to find a spin class during the week and swap that for a run on the weekend. That brings me to my next question, 60 min spin class vs. 30 miles or a 2hr bike ride, are they comparable?

Thanks for your input!