General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Thoughts on an Oly lifting program? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-07-23 10:59 AM

User image

Master
Southwest Chicago 'burbs
Bronze member
Subject: Thoughts on an Oly lifting program?

I'm relatively new to Olympic lifting -- have had a trainer teach me the moves so I've got the form (with light weight) pretty well down, I think -- but haven't been doing it for more than a few months now.

Now I'm looking to devote 3 days/week to lifting (taking some time off from the tri side of things for a bit), and am a little confused as to what kind of program to put together... what exercises to do on the 3 days, what kind of weight/progression of weight I should be doing.

I've researched online and found a barrage of information, but don't feel like I've got the knowledge to figure out what's good and what's not.

So - anyone have either a link to something good online or could suggest a 3 day/week program?

2010-07-23 1:15 PM
in reply to: #3000114

Elite
Denver, Colorado
Subject: RE: Thoughts on an Oly lifting program?
After years of looking at various programs and doing the Olympic lifts myself, I've come to believe that a good program (notice I didn't claim that this was the "best" program; I don't even know if a "best" program exists) that will give you what you need is something like the following:

Pick one of the lifts to focus on during the workout.

Start ridiculously light - an empty bar or even a stick - and start by doing a few reps. This is more than just a "warm up" as you are trying to imprint the correct movement pattern. Get to where you move the bar or stick pretty quickly.

Add weight. Keep the reps under 5, preferably around 3. While the weight is still light continue to focus on speed.

Continue to add weight. It's okay, and even encouraged, to do sets of singles.