General Discussion Triathlon Talk » IT band issues from biking Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-07-25 9:36 AM

User image

Veteran
Subject: IT band issues from biking
I have had IT band issues for about a year now. They both get really really tight and hurt alot. I always thought it was from running, however I believe it from the bike. I took 3 days off from biking then ran 17.5 km with no problems at all, just road 85km yesturday and the IT bands are sore today..if I go for a run today they would just get worse (so no run). My question would be....What on the bike would cause this issue? The seat to high, to low? Am I to forward on seat? Just looking for some ideas. I have been biking for only 3 years and the issue arose last year as I trained for my 1st ironman. I have had a bike professional bike fit last year, should I do another one now?
I do my stretching and rolling to get rid of the issue but I want to find out the underlying problem.
thanks

Edited by natebs 2010-07-25 9:37 AM

2010-07-25 10:03 PM
in reply to: #3002866

User image

Veteran
Montréal
Subject: RE: IT band issues from biking

natebs - 2010-07-25 10:36 AM I have had IT band issues for about a year now. They both get really really tight and hurt alot. I always thought it was from running, however I believe it from the bike. I took 3 days off from biking then ran 17.5 km with no problems at all, just road 85km yesturday and the IT bands are sore today..if I go for a run today they would just get worse (so no run). My question would be....What on the bike would cause this issue? The seat to high, to low? Am I to forward on seat? Just looking for some ideas. I have been biking for only 3 years and the issue arose last year as I trained for my 1st ironman. I have had a bike professional bike fit last year, should I do another one now?
I do my stretching and rolling to get rid of the issue but I want to find out the underlying problem.
thanks