General Discussion Triathlon Talk » biking and IT band issues Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-07-25 7:31 PM

User image

Veteran
Subject: biking and IT band issues
I have had IT band issues for about a year now. They both get really really tight and hurt alot. I always thought it was from running, however I believe it from the bike. I took 3 days off from biking then ran 17.5 km with no problems at all, just road 85km yesturday and the IT bands are sore today..if I go for a run today they would just get worse (so no run). My question would be....What on the bike would cause this issue? The seat to high, to low? Am I to forward on seat? Just looking for some ideas. I have been biking for only 3 years and the issue arose last year as I trained for my 1st ironman. I have had a bike professional bike fit last year, should I do another one now?
I do my stretching and rolling to get rid of the issue but I want to find out the underlying problem.
thanks

I posted this in the health section as well.

2010-07-26 10:13 AM
in reply to: #3003638

User image

Expert
Austin, TX
Subject: RE: biking and IT band issues
I too am one of the few people that had an ITB issue from the bike.  I tried all sorts of different ways to alleviate it but I think it is so specific to individual riders that it will be hard to say what is causing it.  A fit would never hurt, and I would especially let them know about the ITB pain.  That is what I did and the fitter looked at how I was pedaling and it was determined that I was trying to bring my knees in too close to the top bar.  I think I saw all the professional riders angling their knees in on the bike races that I tried to copy that.  This was causing a lot of stress on the ITB.  I was advised that my knees need to be directly over my pedals.  Once I started riding like that and building up my mileage, the ITB pain went away and I have not felt it since it was corrected last year. 

Good luck with it.