General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Total, Complete Newbie.... Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-07-31 1:02 AM

New user

Subject: Total, Complete Newbie....
Hi!  My name is Jessica.  This is my first post.  I'm about 100 lbs overweight.  I've always wanted to do a triathlon, but I've always been intimidated by the swim.  Last year after attempting to run and suffering a foot injury I finally hauled my behind to the pool and completly fell in love with swimming. 

Now that I'm no longer scared of swimming, it's time to conquer the bike.  Yesterday I got on a bike for the first time in about 15 years.  I'm buying my friend's old bike.  It's a Trek 6000 series ~ about 10 years old.  She used it through three tri seasons and last year got a new Specialized. 

I've decided that my goal for next year is to complete a triathlon.  My husband is going to do it with me (he's done several already) and I have no idea where to start!!!  Help!!!!!

I would love any advice.  Thanks!  I can't wait to look around here and make myself at home!!

~Jessica
http://healthyfor100.blogspot.com

2010-07-31 7:48 AM
in reply to: #3015323

Master
Subject: RE: Total, Complete Newbie....
Hi Jessica! Welcome aboard. Sounds like you're already on your way.

My suggestions
1) Make sure you have the absolute basics (cap, good goggles, safe bike, helmet, and good running shoes)
2) Sign up for a TRI, don't hesitate. Just find an event that gives you enough time to train and sign up for it
3) Get to training. BT has some really good training plans (some are free and some you get if you sign up for a paid membership which is  a GREAT value). You can find the plans here:
http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/discussion/training/trainingplans-list.asp?h=1
4) Get to work, train, be safe, listen to your body....and HAVE FUN.