General Discussion Triathlon Talk » AM I losing weight or valuable training muscle Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-08-05 8:28 PM

Subject: AM I losing weight or valuable training muscle
Ok. Here's the question. I am a beginner and very overweight. I have been steadily losing weight (which is great). But, my main goal is to finish a Sprint Tri on Sept. 25th. As my workouts get longer, I feel more and more fatigued (at the end and after). Should I be consuming calories? If so what kind and when?
It may seem like a weird question. But, when I competed in Fitness, we did lots of cardio (w/no food during) to lose bodyfat. Here is what my week looks like, usually:
Monday: Swim (25 laps & deep water run: 45 min. total)
Tuesday: Run/walk (1 hour)
Wednesday: Bike (1 hour)
Thursday: Run/walk (1 hour)
Friday: Swim (25 laps followed by deep water run: 45 min. total)
Saturday: Bike (1 hour)

The Bodybuilder Chic in me thinks that my body should be using it's "fat stores" for energy......

Please help!

Angel

2010-08-05 8:37 PM
in reply to: #3026453

User image

Elite
Spring, TX
Subject: RE: AM I losing weight or valuable training muscle

Two different questions really.  You're probably losing fat AND possibly losing muscle.  Losing muscle is not a bad thing though...

Your body should be burning the fat stores before burning muscle for energy.  However, consuming calories will increase your glycogen stores which should help you get a better workout in, increasing your fitness gains.  I would also consume some carbs/protein after the workout to replenish those energy stores.  I realize you want to burn fat, but your still need to replenish your body. 

As far as losing muscle goes, don't worry about it.  Your body will adapt to the training stress you give it.  If you lose muscle, it will be the muscle you're not using and don't need(at least for triathlon).