General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swim Goals Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-04-17 3:49 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
The Great Pacific Northwest
Subject: Swim Goals

We all know that swimming, for most of us, is the hardest part. Would all ya'all mind sharing with me some of your initial swimming goals? I am a very goal oriented person and I know that I'll do better if I set some challenges before myself. But being a teacher, my goals must have objectives and those objectives must be attainable and measurable.

In other words:

By the end of the swimming the unit the student will be able to:

1. Swim the freestyle crawl 1/2 mile without stopping for more than 20 seconds, and no more than 3 times in the course of the swim.

2. Demonstrate appropriate swim strokes.

3. Swim the 1/2 mile in no more than 20 minutes.

4. Not drown.

So now we must design lesson plans to go with that! No hit and miss for me. I am the AR teacher so I must write lesson plans for everything...okay maybe not EVERYTHING. I don't think my husband would enjoy lesson plans in the boudoir, for example.

So here's what I have done so far:

Goal one: get in water and stay in water. Goal met first swim...barely. I actually got out and went back into the locker room ready to give up, but made myself return to the pool.

Goal two: Swim at least ten freestyle laps (finesse not an issue at this point). Goal met by third swim.

Goal three: Swim at least 20 minutes, spending the majority of the time actively swimming. Goal met third swim.

Goal four: Swim 10 feestyle strokes without stopping and without flipping over onto my back. Goal ALMOST met in fourth swim.