General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Upgrade to Tri Bike? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-09-27 8:38 AM

Subject: Upgrade to Tri Bike?
I'm a college student and have been racing for several years now on a mid range road bike.  I have been looking fairly seriously about upgrading to a $2,500-$4,000 tri specific bike.  Money isn't too big of an issue, school is free, but I want to make sure it is worth the investment before I spend that much.  I average just under 20mph on Olympic length tris and am will probably be getting into longer races in the near future.   

Is it worth me spending the money to upgrade and If I do does anyone have any suggestions on what bikes are good?  I will probably end up using whatever bike I buy for a long time so I'm hoping to make a good long term investment.

2010-09-27 1:46 PM
in reply to: #3119024

User image

Pro
Subject: RE: Upgrade to Tri Bike?

Is it worth it.  Ahhh- the question of life.  There's nobody that can answer that question for you other than you.  We can calculate the projected time difference in a race that a nice bike will buy you.  Is finishing an Oly distance race 5 min (?) faster worth $3K?  How many $'s per minute are you willing to spend?

IMHO- unless you are regularly vying for a podium position and a few minutes will really make a difference for you, it's not worth it.   But that's just the logical part of the brain.  The other half of the brain may look at all those TT bikes out there, notice how amazingly beautiful they are, and just want one regardless.

I don't know... is it worth it to you?  For me- I'd rather be riding a beach cruiser and getting passed by TT bikes, than be riding a TT bike getting passed by beach cruisers.

2010-09-27 9:20 PM
in reply to: #3119905

User image

Expert
Leicester
morey000 - 2010-09-27 1:46 PM