General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Mtn bike workout VS road bike workout Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2010-10-05 7:43 PM

User image

Elite
Subject: Mtn bike workout VS road bike workout
I'm just thinking out loud here.  What is the diffence between going out for a two hour mountain bike ride VS a two hour road ride?  Would the two workouts compare?  I know a person wouldn't go as many miles in two hours on a mountain bike as they would on a road bike, but what about effort?  If a training plan calls for, say, a 60 minute ride, is there benefit of one over the other?  Or, say a person is training for a HIM and needed to do a long ride and wanted a break from the road bike and went out on the mountain bike for the same time amount that would be equal to the time it would take to say, go 40 miles on a road bike.  Just curious how, or even if, the two workouts compare.  Go easy on me...I'm still a newbie to most of this!  Smile

2010-10-05 8:08 PM
in reply to: #3134753

User image

Master
Midlothian, VA
Subject: RE: Mtn bike workout VS road bike workout
I ride a hybrid MTB.  I do a lot of 20-30 mile rides these days, and have done 2 so far over 50.  On some group rides I keep within site of the faster riders, and sometimes they drop me.

I expect when I get a better bike I'll be able to go faster AND further.

Depends on the bike and REALLY depends on the rider.  I can hold my own on flats but man do I get dropped on hill climbs.  That should get easier with a 10# lighter bike with less rolling resistance etc.

I'm guessing the MTB is a tougher workout.  Pretty sure about that one.

-eric
2010-10-05 8:41 PM

User image

Melon Presser
Definitely more effort on the mountain bike (given the same terrain). Wait, given ANY terrain, it's just that on hilly uneven non-paved surfaces, you CAN ride on them with a mountain bike.