General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Self Coach vs Training Plan vs Coach Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-10-14 3:18 PM

Subject: Self Coach vs Training Plan vs Coach
Hello,

I've been training for triathlon for about 2 years and for the last 6 months have a had a coach who writes me up programmes and I can email as much as I want. I like having a coach but it is costing me about $15 a week to have one and I'm thinking I could do without one.

I think I would know enough to write up my own training plans and to adjust it when I need to. I'll write them up based on my past programmes from my coach.

Do you think it's best to write up my own training plans, or get a generic plan from the likes of this website or stick it out with the coach?

Any advice.

2010-10-14 3:25 PM
in reply to: #3152771

User image

Champion
, Minnesota
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Self Coach vs Training Plan vs Coach

I think it varies from person to person, but I think a good coach is always going to be the "best" if you're looking for the best outcome and can afford it.  This is assuming the person knows what they're, doing of course. 

For what it's worth, I think $15/week is inexpensive for that kind of service.

Of course you can muddle through just fine on your own.  It would depend on your commitment to researching the sport, your ability to understand training methods, and if you can motivate yourself.  I personally cannot do those things and this would be better off with a coach. 

Edited by BikerGrrrl 2010-10-14 3:25 PM
2010-10-14 3:27 PM
in reply to: #3152786

User image

Champion
, Minnesota
Bronze member

If you decide not to use a coach, I think the best best option is to use a plan written by someone who has the skills and can be found here on BT or in other resources.  I think that would be superior to writing your own unless you are an expert in the area.

2010-10-14 3:29 PM

Well I'm no expert.