General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Running Shoe Advice Needed Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-10-25 1:47 PM

User image

Chatham Ontario
Subject: Running Shoe Advice Needed
Fist let me start. I am new to running started in May on the couch program. I was 263 lbs I am now 218 lbs I was fitted with the Brooks BEAST shoe. As I progress it is a Heavy shoe and bulky.

However here is the thing. I am FLAT Footed, Low Arch and I supinate. Even in my brooks Beast. I have calluses on the outside of my foot across from the ball of the foot. Basically where my foot is taking the pounding while running.

I am open to thoughts. I don't have local shoe stores that have educated people in them and I don't feel like driving 2 hours again to get fitted again. I knew when I bought the Brookes Beast I would be graduating to less of a shoe later on... well I am now Later on.

I still have more weight to loose yet too.

2010-10-26 1:13 PM
in reply to: #3170945

User image

Extreme Veteran
Canyon Hills (Lake Elsinore), CA
Subject: RE: Running Shoe Advice Needed
Take a look at the Mizuno Wave Rider.  I don't have flat feet but I do suppinate and it's worked well for me.  Nike Lunar Glide might work as well.
2010-10-26 8:40 PM
in reply to: #3173160

User image

Chatham Ontario
Thanks I will look at those. Appreciate you taking the time to answer me.

Plus I like the Steelers... so that is a bonus....
2010-10-27 8:01 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Falls Church, VA
This makes no sense to me at all.  The Beast is designed as a motion control shoe to "correct" severe over-pronation.  For the supinator I have always seen neutral cushioned shoes recommended by the "experts".

I am 220ish lbs and also supinate.  I have spent a lot of time running in Mizuno's line of neutral shoes (creation, rider, precision).  Rider for general running and precision for shorter runs and racing.